top of page

An Altar Away


Hey y'all! I hope y'all have had an amazing couple of weeks. I want to apologize for not putting a blog out last week. I ended up getting a bad UTI and was sick in bed for a couple of days. I do appreciate all the texts, calls, emails, and messages from y'all, just checking in on me and making sure I was okay, and letting me know that you were (and still are) praying for me. It definitely helped me get better, I believe anyway! Also, thank y'all for the constant and daily encouragement y'all send my way. I will never be able to thank you enough. I just pray these blogs help you in some way when you read them.

I recently came across The Three Simple Rules in Life and it honestly astounded me. I do not really know how three simple little rules could hit me so hard, but they did. Here are The Three Simple Rules in Life:

1) If you do not Go after what you want, you'll never have it.

2) If you do not ASK, the answer will always be no.

3) If you do not step forward, you'll always be in the same place.

These three rules are all very, very good... but the one that hit me the most was rule number three. As I sat and thought about that one little statement, I was reminded of all the times I had needed help. I prayed and prayed and did everything I knew I was supposed to do, yet did not know where to turn or what to do next. Then, I would go to my church, or a church service, and from the moment they sang the first song... I knew I needed to "step out," I just did not know when. I did not want to stall, but I also did not want to go unless I knew God wanted me to. As the service would go on, someone would get up and sing a song or give a testimony. My palms would start sweating or my heart would race... I would get this feeling in the pit of my stomach that I should step forward and get the help I knew I needed. But, I was scared. I did not know what people would think of me walking up to the altar in the middle of a song or testimony. I did not want them to think that I was going to backslide, or I was going through something super, super major that would determine whether or not I stayed in church, because that was not the case. I just really needed help from the Lord. I guess I just had the normal thoughts that go through a person's head before they step out.

Let me tell you something. If you EVER deal with those same feelings, where you know you need help and you know help is just an altar away, I urge you... STEP FORWARD. Just like the Rules say, you will always be in the same place if you do not step forward. I know we get scared and we have thoughts run through our heads... we do not want anyone to think we are leaving or think less of us. I promise you, most people will not think any less of you. They will not be quick to judge. Most times, they will follow you up there, pray with you, and love you regardless.

Speaking from my own experience, and being as honest as I can be... when you get that feeling, when you know the Lord is calling you and asking you to step forward, do it. He will be waiting, an altar away, with open arms, ready to give you the help you need. Step out, step forward, let go, and let God. Otherwise, you will always be in the same place.

"Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need." Hebrews 4:16


bottom of page