top of page

Reaching Hands

Hey y'all! I hope everyone is having a splendid day thus far. I want to thank you for continuing to support and encourage me on this journey. Y'all's messages and emails always brighten my day! To know that these blogs, something I was scared and worried to start, are helping you and encouraging you... helps and encourages me. It gives me a push to continue to do what I felt led to do.

Sometimes life gets so super busy. Maybe your classes are hard? Work is exhausting? Your house needs cleaned? Laundry needs caught up? Here of late, I have felt this way. With camp meetings this week and that week, youth camps going continually throughout the summer, festivals that my office has to help with, holidays, and everyday family duties... I am EXHAUSTED. I feel I have no time left in my day, week, month, or even year to just relax and spend time with the Lord. I know a lot of people will not admit it, but, as you know, I try to relate to y'all on a personal level. Honestly, it sometimes gets to the point where I have to FORCE myself to read the Bible for a few minutes out of my day, or set aside five minutes to say a small daily prayer. I often rush to finish up and promise God (and tell myself) that I'll spend more time with Him tomorrow or next week. That does not always work either. Often times, it is not long before I am distracted and drowning in my daily tasks, that I forget to ask God for help of any kind.

I recall the story we all know of Peter walking on the water with Jesus. Peter, while walking upon the waves, quickly became distracted by the wind and the waves. Similar to me sinking into my own distraction, Peter began to sink into the water FROM his distraction (Matthew 14:29-30). The great thing is as soon as Peter cried out saying "Lord, save me," Jesus "immediately...stretched forth his hand" (Verses 30-31).

Believe it or not, I often feel that I have to make everything up to God after I was so busy and distracted. In those times, I often lose sight of Him. Lucky for us, God does not work that way! God is waiting for us to turn TO Him so HE can reach out and help us. As SOON as we turn to Him for our needs or for help, Jesus reaches out with NO hesitation. When we are unsettled by the chaos in life, or distracted by the busy day we have ahead, it is easy for us, as HUMANS, to forget that He, THE ALL-POWERFUL, ALMIGHTY GOD, is standing right in the middle of that storm or chaotic day WITH us. So, why doubt? No matter what we are going through, He is there... next to us at that very moment... waiting for our cries... waiting to reach out with those nail-scarred hands and rescue us.

"Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name. He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him." Psalm 91:14-15


bottom of page