top of page

Whom the Son has Set Free


Hey y'all! I hope every single one of you are having a blessed day thus far. Thank you so much for continuing to read these blogs. The amount of support and encouragement I get is astounding. I can not begin to thank y'all enough. I just hope the Lord can work through me to touch somebody. All I want in life is to please my Father. Now, on to the blog!

While brainstorming, researching, and figuring out what it was I was going to write about, I remembered a lesson I learned in my high school "World History" class. I do not remember too much about it, but I do remember talking about slavery and freedom. Olaudah Equiano, also known as Gustavus Vassa, was a writer and abolitionist from a region we know today as Nigeria. At only eleven years old, Equiano was kidnapped and sold into slavery, where he made his way through West Africa, the West Indies, the colony of Virginia, and finally England. By the age of twenty, Equiano had purchased his own freedom, but was unable to enjoy it knowing others were still enslaved.

In 1789, Equiano published his autobiography, an unheard of achievement for a former slave, which helped in the creation of the Slave Trade Act 1807. Unfortunately, Equiano still struggled with a hard and stressful life. He was still bearing the emotional and physical scars of the treatment he received while he was enslaved, and had suicidal thoughts quite often. That is, until he became a Protestant Christian and found peace in his faith.

Keeping Equiano's accomplishment of helping in the Slave Trade Act in mind, Jesus fought a battle for all of us, whose slavery is not of outward chains, but are enslaved by our own brokenness, sin, heartbreak, and scars. In John 8:34, Jesus says "...Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin." Wherever such a freedom seems unheard of, HIS word NEEDS to be declared. We can be free from our guilt, shame, brokenness, hopelessness, helplessness, heartbreak, and sin! By simply trusting Jesus, and believing in His mighty name, WE CAN BE FREE!

"If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed." John 8:36


bottom of page