top of page

The Wait


Hey y'all! I hope you are all having a very blessed day so far! I just want to say a huge "thank you" to all of you who are continuing to read these blogs. I may not have many readers, but I have y'all and Jesus. I would say that is pretty good! This blog will most likely not be as lengthy as most of the blogs I have written. Nevertheless, today, I want to address something that I personally struggle with. I have struggled with it for as long as I can remember. Waiting.

Having a four-year-old sister has definitely been an experience. For 18 years of my life, it has just been Jade and I. We recently started fostering, and it has been a huge (positive) impact on us. Since she is the age where she loves to learn things, I am always looking for books to read with her or little crafts to do with her. I recently came across something that really caught my attention. "Waiting for the fish to bite or waiting for wind to fly a kite. Or waiting around for Friday night... Everyone is just waiting" -- Or so Dr. Seuss, the author everyone knows and loves, says. So much of our life is waiting, but God never seems to be in a hurry. I am reminded of an old saying: "God has his hour and delay." So, what do we do? We wait.

That is it. That is one of the things I struggle with a lot. I mean, it IS hard, right? Waiting is hard? We pace back and forth, we twiddle our thumbs, sigh, stifle our yawns, sit... desperately waiting for a certain time or hour. We begin to ask ourselves, and God, questions... "Why must I live with this person? This situation? Why can't it get better now? Why won't You come through Lord?" Simple, yet complex questions. God's answer? "Wait... see what I will do."

Waiting is one of life's absolute BEST teachers. In it we learn patience. We learn the virtue of... simply, waiting. We wait while God works on us, in us, and for us. In this wait, we develop endurance. We gain the ability to trust God's love, goodness, and timing, even when things do not go the way we think they should. Waiting is not dreary. In waiting, we can still "rejoice and be glad in [Him]." We can wait in hope, knowing that God WILL deliver us. We can wait in hope, knowing that God is with us in our waiting. God is never in a hurry, but He is ALWAYS on time.

"Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD." Psalm 27:14


bottom of page