top of page

Our Greatest Treasures


Hey y'all! I hope your morning, so far, has been amazing. Just want to say a big thank you to y'all for continuing to read these blogs. It really helps and pushes me to continue. The whole point of starting this blog was in hopes of helping and encouraging somebody who reads them. I pray that is exactly what these blogs do. I understand that sometimes they will not, or that people may get offended by them. Nevertheless, I will continue to share and spread the love of our Savior. I will continue to invest in each and every one of you!

When I was younger, and while I was growing up, my sister and I loved to go to my Aunt Melissa's house when our mother cleaned the church. We always admired all the angels that she collected. Some were young little girls and boys. Others were women of age, glowing with happiness. She valued these figurines, and relied on sturdy wood and glass shelves to keep them from being destroyed or broken.

Most earthly possessions can be easily destroyed by insects, rust, clumsiness, or even be stolen. In Matthew chapter six, we are encouraged to place a special focus, not on things that are temporary or have a limited lifespan, but on things that have ETERNAL value. When Melissa passed away at the young age of thirty years old, she had not accumulated a ton of earthly possessions. Her angel statues, some coloring books, and a few drawings. But, I still like to think about all the treasure she stored in her eternal home of Heaven.

I look back on how much she loved the Lord and how she served him in the most quiet ways: caring for her family and her son whom doctors told her she would never have, being kind to the children at church, befriending and praying for all the nurses and doctors she came into contact with through dialysis, loving my father (who was backslid and out of church) unconditionally. She prayed... even after she began having seizures, became paralyzed and wheelchair bound, she continued to love and pray for everyone around her. She prayed for everyone in her life.

Our real treasure is not measured in what we accumulate, collect, or buy, but rather in what or whom we invest our time and passions in. What "treasures" are we storing up in Heaven by serving and following Jesus? Our REAL wealth is what we invest for eternity.

"Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also." Matthew 6:19-21


bottom of page