top of page

Jesus Loves Maysel


Hey y'all! I just want to say thank you again! I know y'all are probably getting tired of hearing that, but it really means a lot to me to know that all y'all are standing with me, and sticking with me, even if I am not able to write a blog every Thursday! So, again, thank you! I appreciate every single one of you! Now, let's get to this blog!

I recently came across a short story that I found absolutely adorable and hilarious, yet amazingly so, so true. A little girl would go around singing a very familiar song, but with her own little twist: "Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells Maysel." She would go around, persistent in singing it HER way. Now, as I can just see the irritation in little Maysel's family, she was not as wrong as they may have thought she was.

Maysel had it right ALL along. The Bible does, in fact, tell Maysel, and all of us, that Jesus loves us. Over and over and over again we read this truth. Something simple. Something many overlook at times. Let us look at an example: The apostle John. John was "...that disciple whom Jesus loved..." (John 21:7 KJV). He tells us of God's love in a verse that we could probably all quote from memory: John 3:16, "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

John reinforces his message, this message of love, later on. Just as John knew Jesus loved him, we can have that SAME EXACT assurance. The assurance of knowing that someone loves us, even when we feel unlovable. Someone cares for us, even when we feel like we are too far gone to be cared for. Someone is there to listen, even when we feel completely alone. Someone is there to hold us gently, when we feel the world is falling apart. Someone to save us from the storms of this crazy life. Someone who will be a father to the fatherless, strength to the weak, bread to the hungry, water to the thirsty, hope to the hopeless. You see, Jesus DOES love us. The Bible tells us so.

"Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us..." 1 John 4:10


bottom of page