top of page

Let Go & Let God


Here of late, I have found myself asking God why certain things have happened or are currently happening. I begin to question every move and decision I have made, hoping they weren't the wrong ones. That is when I begin to fervently pray and seek God. I pick up the good ole Book and read.

As a young adult, there are times that I become so overwhelmed by enormous challenges, hard decisions, life-changing circumstances, and even just life itself. That's when I learned the merits of putting pen to paper. When I'm uncertain of things, whether it be which job to pursue, how to cope with the frightening life of adulthood, or even certain little decisions, I write. After I pour my heart and soul onto paper, I'm able to step back from whatever problem it is that I face and view it more openly and objectively than my emotions would have ever allowed.

But, just like writing my thoughts onto paper gave me a new and fresh perspective, pouring our hearts out to the Lord helps us gain HIS perspective. It helps us see what he sees, and reminds us of his great and mighty power. I'm reminded of King Hezekiah. After receiving a letter from an ominous adversary, he did just that. He spread out this letter before the Lord, prayerfully seeking and calling out to the Lord to deliver the people so the world could see that He alone IS God.

Following in Hezekiah's footsteps, when we are faced with situations that bring anxiety, fear, or even a deep awareness that getting through whatever it is will require more than what we have or could ever offer, RUN TO THE LORD. Just like Hezekiah did, we too can lay out our problem before the Lord and trust that He will guide our steps and calm our uneasy hearts. Don't ask God why it's happening... just LET GO and LET THE LORD move in the way he knows best. For with him, ALL things are possible.

"If thou prepare thine heart...For then shalt thou lift up thy face without spot; yea, thou shalt be stedfast, and shalt not fear..." Job 11:13-15


bottom of page